John Forrest & Annie Duff – Portraits

My cousin Tom Forrest sent me these new scans of some fantastic portraits.  They were taken about 1910, almost certainly in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.  They show my great-great grandparents John Forrest (1842-1920) and Annie E. Prescott Duff (1847-1930) posing in a portrait studio.

John Forrest

Annie E. Prescott Duff

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

One response to “John Forrest & Annie Duff – Portraits

  • Diana

    Wow, I just did a search on John Forrest (my gr-gr grandfather) and found your site. I didn’t know there was anyone else in the family besides Tom who was interested in genealogy. Great stuff here! I, too, have run into a dead-end researching what happened to my gr-grandfather Jack Forrest. My father John (my grandmother Betty Forrest’s oldest son) says he died “downstate,” meaning southern Vermont/Massachusetts but I’ve found nothing. I heard the same rumors about drink/infidelity from other family members, though. It’s weird because I remember my great-grandmother Lulu (“Grammie Coutermarsh”) as a lovely sweet grannie, not a femme fatale. Jack Forrest was a handsome man!

Leave a comment