Ancestry.com DNA Testing

For Christmas this year, I decided that I wanted to get my mother and father DNA-tested through Ancestry.com.  While it’s true that my family tree is extremely well-elucidated and researched, there are still pockets where certain things are unclear.  For example, I only know back to my 3x great-grandparents on my Krueger side (due to records from Pomerania being difficult to find and the common nature of the family name), so if we matched someone in the world who had Krueger ancestors it would indicate a link between those families despite the absence of documentation.  Similar situations are present for many of the Irish lines of my family due to the scarcity of records from Ireland.

So at Christmas this year my mother spit into a test-tube and sent off an envelope to be analyzed.   Yesterday we got the results back.

My mother’s DNA matched at least 20 people “closely” (5th cousins or better).  I’ll have to investigate each one!

It showed that she has 19% DNA from Scandanavia (that would be the Norwegian side, Hanson and Olson), 32% “Europe East”, which would be the Prussian stuff (Krueger, Hoge, Schmidt, Zierke, Schulz, Winkelmann).  Then 38% from “Great Britain”.  I assume this is the Irish from the Mullins, Hammond, and all the British stuff from the Curtis side of my family.  Then there’s 9% of the DNA marked “Other”.

I have no idea how much confidence to give these results.  I know from my research that my mother’s grandparents break down as follows:

Oscar Krueger: 100% Prussian
Edith Curtis: 50% Irish and 50% English
Olga Hanson: 100% Norwegian
Edwin Schmidt: 100% Prussian

So my maternal grandfather was 50% Prussian, 25% Irish, 25% English, and my maternal grandmother was 50% Norwegian and 50% Prussian.  That makes my mother 50% Prussian, 25% Irish/English, and 25% Norwegian.  The DNA results have much more “Great Britain” than predicted.  No idea what that means.

On the Schmidt side of my mother’s family there was a family rumor that someone in the family brought back and married a “Mongolian Princess”.  Interestingly, my mother’s DNA shows 2% of her genetics are from “Asia Central” which is the area around Turkmenistan and Northern Iran.  Very interesting!

Here’s the full breakdown of her results:

Great Britain 38%
Europe East 32%
Scandinavia 19%
Ireland 4%
Europe West 4%
Asia Central 2%
Finland/Northwest Russia 1%

As time goes on and other people are tested, we can see if more matches are found.

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

7 responses to “Ancestry.com DNA Testing

  • Gloria Johnson

    Fascinating!!! G

    Sent from Gloria’s iPad.

    >

  • Claire Couture

    So would you recommend getting DNA information? It sounds like you are unsure with those results. I am toying with doing it with myself and one of my brothers.

  • cthomas1967

    Hi Claire. Ancestry just updated and we have MANY matches. I’m much happier about this than I was yesterday when they showed none.

  • Micheline Tremblay Wheat

    That’s so interesting…I wish I could do mine, but it is not available yet on Ancestry Canada…and it would have to be from my DNA because both my parents have passed.

  • Dave

    I’ve been considering doing this too. I am trying to bolster confidence in a paternal link, so I wanted to investigate the benefits of different tests, but have only started… I did find a comparison of about 5 different services.

  • Robinson, Jayne L

    Hi Thomas,
    I’ve been keeping up with your blogs. This is interesting. I’ve never heard of the Schmidt Mongolian princess story. I did see that your mother has some ties to Mullins. I know several of the Mullins were close friends with the Schmidt family. My parents were close friends with Max and Annie (Falkowski) Mullins. They had one son Ray. Wondering if there is some connection since it was a much smaller world back then.
    Jayne

    • cthomas1967

      Hi Jayne! I’m not aware of any of my Mullins family members who were not in the Dubuque, Iowa area. My great-grandmother Edith Curtis came to Wausau when she married my great-grandfather Oscar Krueger. Her family were all from Grinnell and Dubuque, Iowa.

Leave a Reply

