Letter from Jane Elizabeth Fairbanks – 16 Jan 1856

Another letter written by my 3x great-grandmother Jane Elizabeth Fairbanks Duff of Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, to her cousin Mary Martha Fairbanks Twining of Halifax.  In this letter my grandmother writes of books she has been sent by Mary, a terrible snowstorm which endangered her husband and two friends, money owed between the two woman, and the family health.  As always a transcription follows the letter, which can be enlarged or downloaded by clicking on the images.

Pages 1 & 4

Pages 1 & 4

Pages 2 & 3

Pages 2 & 3

Pages 6 and 7

Pages 6 & 7

Pages 8 and 5

Pages 8 & 5

Braco – January 16th [1856]

My Dear Mary,

I received your note and parcel on Monday afternoon and was very glad indeed to hear again from you and much obliged for your attending to my wants again.  I thought the books very suitable indeed and am much indebted to you for your kindness in sending the others belonging to yourself as they are new.  Perhaps you may like to dispose of them of so you can let me know the price.  Fanoff?  seems

== Page 2

a very nice book and the children are already much interested in it.  The “Illustrated Geography” I will keep as it seems very good and may be useful by and by, although I will commence with this simpler one part now as we have an account with Mr. Morton he can charge it.  I should take much pleasure in teaching the children now if possible to have a little more quiet.  But that is impossible with these younger ones playing about the room.  I have not been very well for the last two or three weeks

== Page 3

and have quite given up going out.  Indeed I have to leave almost every thing now to Miss Duff as I can no longer take ??in the house.  I think now the event will be over in a few days as I can do little for myself or others at present.  The children are all well but baby not yet walking alone which is rather discouraging.  What dreadful storms we have had lately.  I don’t think I can remember anything worse than last Sabbath Night.  Aunt Margaret and I were talking over the fire feeling

== Page 4

very anxious about William who had gone to LaHave Bridge when in came Mr. Cossmann [possibly the Rev. Charles Cossman of Lunenburg] and Louise who had also been in the country and had lost themselves in the vain attempt to cross the Lunenburg Common.  It is a dreadful place in a snow storm as there is nothing to guide one and great danger of getting off the road into the ice.  They did lose the road for some time Mr C left Louise with the horse and sleigh and endeavored to find it on foot, but he got perfectly bewildered

== Page 5

with the drifting snow and for some time lost sight of the sleigh also and wandered about in perfect despair.  He fortunately discovered it at the last so they gave up all hope of getting to Lunenburg and made the best of their way back to us.  Poor Louise was half perished with cold and frightened out of her senses thinking of course her Father had got in the ice and expecting any moment that the horse would dash the sleigh to pieces in his terror at the storm.  We felt very uneasy

== Page 6

about William, but he made his appearance about an hour afterwards a perfect mass of snow and ice, having been off the road a great many times in the course of his drive.  Since the storms our mails have been very irregular but I hope the roads will be good soon.  I was very glad you sent the amount, it should have been paid long ago.  There is no danger of your defrauding any one but yourself if it is less than I thought

== Page 7

it would be.  If you remember anything more don’t fail to let me know.  I hope to pay you in full when William goes up to Halifax, which I think will be soon after I am confined.  I had rather he would not leave home just now.  I hope he will bring Annie back with him.  You must resent this horrible writing.  I don’t feel fit for anything but wanted to write a few lines if possible in case of being prevented for a

== Page 8

time.  I am very sorry you are suffering again with cold and little Charlie [Charles Rufus Fairbanks Twining] also.  I hope soon to hear you are both better.  Miss Duff still suffers greatly with indigestion and lacks constantly[?] some days.  I have persuaded her to drive in to Lunenburg this evening as it is ??.  She would scarcely leave me alone but she goes out so seldom.  I think it would do her good.  I am very tired and must say goodbye my dear Mary.

With much love to Martha and all other friends.  Believe me ever your affectionate cousin,

Jane E Duff

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

One response to “Letter from Jane Elizabeth Fairbanks – 16 Jan 1856

Leave a Reply

