Silver Flatware from “Woodside”, the Fairbanks Family Home

My cousin Catherine Duff is the current owner of a set of silver flatware that was purchased by my 4x great-grandfather John Eleazer Fairbanks while on a business trip to London, England sometime around 1840.  It was used for many years at “Woodside”, the Fairbanks family home near Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.  These very forks and spoons were used by my 4x great-grandparents as well as my 3x great-grandmother Jane Elizabeth Fairbanks.

I’ll let Catherine tell you about the flatware:

The sterling silver flatware from Woodside is King’s pattern double struck (pattern on both sides),  The silver markings for the items in the picture indicate it is Joseph and Albert Savory sterling made in London in 1839.  The standard mark is the leopard without crown for sterling .925 and the city mark is the “lion passant” for London.  I also have a gravy ladle from 1837 which is also Joseph and Albert Savory.  The duty mark on the 1837 ladle is that of King William IV and the duty mark on the 1839 pieces is that of Queen Victoria.  The date mark on the ladle is an Old English “B”  for 1837 and the date mark on the pieces in the picture is the Old English “D” for 1839.  The makers mark is Joseph and Albert Savory.  The pieces are big and heavy – for example, the dinner fork is 8.25 in. and weighs 3.6 oz (the weight of three of my stainless steel kitchen forks).  Joseph and Albert Savory would have been high end silversmiths in London at the time.  The tea set on eBay shows you some of the markings – the makers mark is in the middle, lion to the right, leopard at top, duty mark (sovereign) is left and date should be an Old English “C” for 1838 at bottom.  The Woodside sterling is not monogrammed.  The rest of the set seems to have been auctioned in 2002 in Nova Scotia.

Flatware from "Woodside"

Flatware from “Woodside”

There is a tea set by the same manufacturer currently for sale on eBay. The current price is set about $5,768 US. This is a photo from that auction:

Tea Set

Joseph and Albert Savory Tea Set

 

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

Leave a Reply

