Antique Store Photos – July, 2014

Another in a series of blogs where I post old photos I found in antique stores or online and then give some details about the people in them.  My hope is always that someone from the family will find these photos and give them a good home.  Here we go!

The first photo was taken in South Belvidere, Illinois about 1875:

AgnesMarshallRae

Agnes Rae née Marshall

AgnesMarshallRae_back

Agnes Marshall was born in Scotland in June 1814.  She married John Rae (b 1813) on 23 Nov 1838 in Nielston, Renfrew, Scotland, and they immigrated to the US about 1842.  She and her husband John are in the 1860, 1870, and 1880 census for Boone, Illinois.  John Rae died in 1884, and Agnes can be seen in the 1900 census for Hyde Park, Illinois with her niece Hannah MacGregor Waddell.  She is listed as having had no children.  Agnes died in 1901 and was buried next to her husband in Poplar Grove Cemetery, Poplar Grove, Illinois.


The next photo was taken in Chicago, Illinois.

"Ellsworth Loomer"

“Ellsworth Loomer”

There’s a bit of a mystery here.  The back says “Ellsworth Loomer”, which is a sufficiently rare name that I was very confident I could find out all about this man.  As it turns out, I can find quite a bit about Ellsworth Loomer, but I’m not sure it’s him in the photo.

Ellsworth Loomer was born in 1864, in Millard, Walworth County, Wisconsin, the son of Leonard Loomer (1818-1894) and Aseneth Sophia Loomer (1823-1899) [Loomer is her maiden name].  He is in the 1870 and 1880 Census for Sugar Creek, Walworth, Wisconsin.  He died in 1891 and is buried in the Millard Cemetery in Millard, Walworth, Wisconsin.

My issue here is that even if this photo were taken in 1891, the year he died, he would have only been 27 years old, and this man looks somewhere between 45 and 60.  It could be that the photo belonged to Ellsworth at one point, so it could be one of his older brothers, or perhaps even his father.

I say this because I purchased another photo from the same stack, totally oblivious that the two photos were related.  There was no reason to suspect they were related since the last name was different and the town where it was taken was totally different also.

"Mary H Wright"

“Mary H Wright”

The back of this photo says simply “Mary H Wright”, but I found a marriage record for her that indicates that she was Mary H Loomer, sister of the above-mentioned Ellsworth Loomer.

Mary Helen Loomer was born 26 May 1852, in Millard, Walworth, Wisconsin, daughter of Leonard and Aseneth Sophia Loomer.   She married Oscar D. Wright (1850-1920, son of Henry Wright and Abigail Child) on 1 Oct 1884 in Wisconsin.  She is in the 1860 and 1880 census for Sugar Creek, Walworth, Wisconsin.  She is in the 1900 Census for Janesville, Rock, Wisconsin living next to her sister Ellen.  She is listed as married and as having had no children, but her husband is not in the Census with her.  She is listed again in the 1920 census for Janesville living with her sister.  Mary died in 1922.


The final photo is a post-card photo taken in the town of Aledo, Illinois.  On the back it says, “Clarence F. Smith & Grace”:

Clarence&GraceSmith

"Clarence F. Smith & Grace"

“Clarence F. Smith & Grace”

Aldedo is in Mercer County, Illinois.  The photo certainly has the look of being more recent.  Based on the clothing and style of photograph, I’d guess more like 1910-1920.  I have a photo of my great-grandfather’s first wedding (taken in 1918) which looks very much like this.  They look like a young couple, so I’d put their birth years between 1890 and 1900.

I’m fairly certain I have information on Clarence F. Smith.

Clarence Fair Smith was born 28 May 1894, in Sunbeam (Ohio Grove Township), Mercer, Illinois to Sylvester Fair Smith (b Sept 1867 in Illinois, d 1955) and Dorthula Moore (b 8 Jun 1868 in Warren County, Illinois, d 14 Nov 1936 in Rock Island, Illinois).  Clarence’s parents were married in 1891 and Dorothula was listed as the mother of 4 children, 3 living in the 1900 census.  Clarence can be found in the 1900 Census for Ohio Grove Township, Mercer, Illinois, and the 1910 Census for Millersburg, Mercer, Illinois.  His 1918 WWI Draft Card, lists his residence as Joy, Mercer, Illinois, and he is listed as single at that point.  He is in the 1920 Census for Millersburg, Mercer, Illinois with a wife Lucy Duncan (b 1900 in Oklahoma), and a daughter, Mary Pauline Smith who was born in 1900.  Clarence died 26 Feb 1978, in Santa Clara, California.
I don’t really know who Grace Smith was.  A first wife, perhaps?  There is a record for a Grace Smith b 22 Oct 1895, who died Apr 1978 in Mercer, Illinois.  But that’s a long-shot given the common nature of the name.  So far I have nothing on a “Grace” linked to Clarence.

 

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

One response to “Antique Store Photos – July, 2014

  • Miriam Hedlund

    It’s odd that the woman looks more like my Great Grandmother Alice Smith family. She was from the Viola and Aledo area.

Leave a Reply

