Oelke / Kamrath Marriage – 1893

Emma A. Kamrath was born in Pomerania, Prussia on 5 Aug 1870 and immigrated with her family to America aboard the “Hammonia” in May of 1885 when Emma was 14.  The Kamraths settled in the Town of Maine near Wausau, Wisconsin where Emma’s parents were farmers.

Emma worked as a domestic servant briefly (she is listed as such in the 1893 Wausau City Directory), then she met August Baumann Oelke.  August was also born in Prussia, on 12 May 1860, and came to America in 1873, when he was 13 years old.

Emma and August were married on 8 Nov 1893.  This photo of their wedding comes to me courtesy of Emma’s grandson Roy Passow.  The original was very faded, but I recently paid to have it restored and the new version is quite lovely.

Oelke-Kamrath Marriage, 1893

Oelke-Kamrath Marriage, 1893

What strikes me more than anything about the photo is the strong esemblance between Emma and her sister Helena.  Neither one looks particularly happy to be getting photographed, unfortunately.  I’ve heard rumors about Emma that she could be a difficult woman.  I think you can see that in her photo.

Helene (l) and Emma (r) Kamrath

Helene (l) and Emma (r) Kamrath

 

 

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

Leave a Reply

