Missed Opportunities – Photo of Schmidt’s Rothschild Saloon

A cousin of mine contacted me recently and let me know that he found this ebay.ca auction result in a Google search:

Vintage Glass Plate Negative RPPC Photograph Schmidt Saloon Rothschild Wausau
Item 181107240529 is no longer available.

I’m guessing this was the original negative of this photograph, or one very much like it:

Wilhelm and Ottelia Schmidt's "Rothchild's Saloon", c1905

Wilhelm and Ottelia Schmidt’s “Rothchild’s Saloon”, c1905

This photo shows the exterior of William and Ottelia Schmidt’s “Rothschild’s Saloon”.   It is from the book “Wisconsin Heartland: The Story of Wausau and Marathon County” by Michael Kronenwetter, and it shows Edwin Schmidt, Louis Schmidt, William Schmidt, Ottelia Zierke Schmidt with William “Billy” Schmidt in front of her, an unknown man, and Albert Schmidt (l to r).

The copy from the book was half-toned.  It means the resolution is not good enough to really zoom in and get details of all the faces.  I would love to be able to contact the buyer and arrange to purchase a copy of the photo, but eBay doesn’t keep records of buyers and sellers beyond 60 days.  Maybe someone will find this blog entry and contact me about it.  We’ll see.

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

Leave a Reply

