Emma Zierke – 1871-1960

Emma A. Zierke (1871-1960), was the younger sister of my great-great-grandmother Ottelia Zierke.  Like all the Zierke children, Emma was born on the Zierke family farm in Harris, Wisconsin.  She was the second of five surviving children of Anna Wilhelmine Schulz and Friedrich Zierke Jr.

I was lucky enough recently to get in touch with Emma’s great-grandson Tim Dittmer, and all the photos listed below are courtesy of him.

Emma Zierke as a younger woman.

Emma Zierke as a younger woman.

Emma married Albert William Barwineck (an immigrant from Pommern, Prussia) in 1893, and they had four children that I know of: Walter, Ella, Albert, and Flora.  The Barwinecks lived in Wood County, Wisconsin for a while before moving to Schofield and Wausau.  While they were in Schofield, Albert worked at the Marathon Paper Mills where my great-grandfather Edwin Schmidt also worked.  Later the Barwineck family moved to Milwaukee, and finally to Marshfield where Emma died in 1960.

Albert Barwineck

Albert Barwineck

This photo shows Emma as an older woman with her grand-daughter Jacquelene Barwineck.  It was taken about 1944.

EmmaZierke&JacqueleneBarwineck1944

Emma Zierke & Jacquelene Barwineck c1944

This one shows Emma with her grandchildren Gerald and Jacquelene Barwineck, taken about 1950.

JerryBarwineckEmmaZierkeJacqueleneBarwineck1950

Emma Zierke with grandchildren Gerald and Jacquelene Barwineck. c1950

I didn’t expect to get photos of Emma’s sister (another of my great-great-grand-aunts), Minna Pauline Zierke (1885 – 1970).  But there are two photos of Emma and Minna together. You can definitely tell they are sisters.

Minna&EmmaZierke1955

Minna Zierke (left) and Emma Zierke. c1955

The other photo of the two sisters.  At first I thought it was some kind of funeral floral arrangement in front of them, but looking closer I think it’s just a flowering plant in a wooden plant stand.

Emma&MinnaZierke1955

Emma (left) and Minna Zierke c1955

Finally, a real treat, also sent to me by Tim.  This is a photo of my 3x great-grandmother Wilhelmine Schulz.  I have written about her family on this blog many times.  She was born in Podstolitz, Kreis Kolmar, Posen, Prussia and came to the US in 1866.  I had this photo previously, except it was just her face.  This is the full photo, and you can see her in her entirety, which I love.  I especially like the fur rug at her feet.  So random!

WilhelminaSchulz1915

Anna Wilhelmine “Minnie” Schulz, c1915.

It makes me realize that somewhere is a matching photo of her husband Fred Zierke, from which the hand-tinted portraits that Gary Zierke owns were made. Hopefully I can find it someday.

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

Leave a Reply

