A Letter from John Fairbanks to Nancy Prescott, 13 Aug 1822

Letter written by John Eleazer Fairbanks [son of Rufus Fairbanks] to his wife Nancy Prescott [daughter of John Prescott], Maroon Hall, Preston, Nova Scotia, Canada.  “Lydia” was Nancy’s sister who later married William DeWolfe.  This letter was written when John was on a trip to the old country on business.

Envelope & Tallies

Envelope & Tallies

Page 1

Page 1

Page 2

Page 2

Mrs. John Fairbanks, Halifax, Nova Scotia

2/3d Mr. John Fairbanks
Liverpool, 13th Augt. 1822

My Dear Nancy,
I have great pleasure in acquainting of my safe arrival here last evening after, a pafsage of 29 days – We had fair winds all the time except 5 or 6 days, 3 of which it blew a small summer Gale to the Eastward – our pafsengers were at first very sick but every fine day reunited them.  They desire their best respects to you – I was very well all the pafsage and I shall be satisfied to have as good a time out.  Our speculation does not promise to be very profitable but I am not discouraged about it.  I hope it will yet do better than I now anticipate.

I hope our dear little girls are well and that you are enjoying yourself during the summer.  Remember me to Lydia and tell her Mifs Julia Bell is just like her.  I am sorry they did not see more of each other. Mifs Bell is also a pleasant companion but sea sicknefs deprived us more of her society.  The parson got on very well in fine weather and indeed our party on the whole was very agreeable – have much to say but the Post waits for no one and I must run with this immediately – You may expect to hear again very soon.  God bless you, my dear Girl, and may we soon see each other again is the wish of your affection husband,

John E. Fairbanks

Remember me to all friends
[Down the right end left margin of the page which carries the address, is a tabulation of goods (tables, carpets, chairs, silverware, blankets, etc).  It’s not clear if this is an inventory of goods that John has purchased, or is selling.  It totals to about 300 British pounds, which makes me believe it is goods he has purchased to take home with him for his household.]

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

Leave a Reply

