The Parents of Jonathan Judkins (b 1781)

As I wrote about recently here:

Who Are the Parents of Jonathan Judkins?

One of my roadblocks had been my inability to discover the parents of my 5x great-grandfather Jonathan Judkins and his wife Dolly Smith.  I detailed the manner in which I combed through the census records for the town of Fayette, Kennebec, Maine to discover that it was fairly likely that his father was “John Judkins” listed in the 1800 Census for Fayette.

The other pieces of the puzzle fell into place when I did a similar detailed analysis of the 1810 Census for Fayette, cross-referencing what I found there with the birth, death, and marriage records for Fayette.  I was able to determine that my 5x great-grandfather’s parents were Jonathan Judkins Jr. (actually making my grandfather Jonathan Judkins III, despite his being listed as “Jr.” in the 1800 Census).  His mother was Elizabeth Batchelder.

Jonathan Judkins Jr. and Elizabeth Batchelder were married in South Hampton, Rockingham, New Hampshire on 23 Jan 1777:

Judkins Batchelder Marriage, 1777

Judkins Batchelder Marriage, 1777

They moved to Fayette, Maine only a couple of months later, and their first child, Elizabeth Judkins, was born in Fayette on 25 Aug 1777.    She died seven months later on 7 Mar 1778.  Other children followed: Stephen Batchelder Judkins was born 6 Jul 1779, my grandfather Jonathan Judkins was born on 9 Aug 1781, a daughter Esther was born on 10 May 1784, a son Elisha on 26 May 1787, a son Jesse born on 4 Jan 1793 [died 17 Sept 1793], and finally a daughter Mehitable born on 9 Mar 1795.

I was also able to determine the entire immediate family of my 5x great grandfather.  Siblings, aunts, uncles, grandparents, etc.  And I traced his line back to the original Judkins immigrant ancestor, Job Judkins, who arrived in Boston in the 1630’s from England and was a sawyer there.  His son Joel, my 9x great-grandfather, moved to Exeter, New Hampshire, likely to pursue the logging trade there.

The link from ol’ Job Judkins to me is as follows:

Job Judkins (1606 – 1657)
Joel Judkins (1643 – 1714)
Samuel Judkins (1686 – 1741)
Capt Jonathan Judkins (1719 – 1791)
Jonathan Judkins II (1753 – 1830)
Jonathan Judkins III (1781 – )
Elizabeth E Judkins (1808 – 1886)
Lucy Gilman Folsom (1835 – 1916)
Helen Maria Nason (1863 – 1912)
Lulu Maria Cairns (1888 – 1978)
Mildred Jean Forrest (1915 – 2006)
Frederick Clifford Thomas III (1941 – )

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

Leave a Reply

