“Les Filles du Roi” – The Daughters of the King

As I wrote about recently, several of my grandmothers were essentially paid by the French monarchy to come to Québec to be brides for the settlers of New France (Nouvelle France).  These women were called the “Filles du Roi”, or daughters of the King.

Their transportation to the New World was paid for by the crown, and they were given a monetary sum plus a dowry of various bridal supplies as an enticement to come to Québec.  Several of the immigrant ancestors in my French lineage were these “Filles du Roi”, so I’m just making a note here of which ones they were.  Note that below, Marquérite Fontaine was not my direct-line ancestor, but one of her husbands, Pierre Ratel, was:

BONVILLE (BONHEUR), Marie   27 Oct 1669            Paul INARD
                            Ste Famille, I.O.      (Carignan soldier)

FONTAINE, Marguerite        bef 1681 census        Jacques GIRARD dit
                            Sorel, PQ              VIMONT
                            22 Aug 1684            Pierre RATEL
                            Repentigny, PQ
                            21 Dec 1691            Maurice OLIVIER

LEMAIRE, Marie              28 Dec 1669            Pierre RATEL
                            Montreal, PQ

MARTIN, Marie               4 Feb 1666             Jean VALLEE
                            Chateau-Richer, PQ
                            5 Dec 1673             Jacques CHARIER dit
                            Ste Famille, I.O.      LAFONTAINE

PELLETIER dit PASSAVANT,    14 Dec 1665            Pierre PAPIN
Anne                        Montreal, PQ

PILLAT, Catherine           19 Oct 1665            Pierre CHARRON
                            Montreal, PQ
                            13 Jan 1709            Sebastien BRISON
                            Montreal, PQ

RENAUD, Marie               25 Oct 1668            Francois LEROUX dit
                            Quebec, PQ             CARDINAL

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

Leave a Reply

