The Artwork of Olga Hanson Schmidt – Part IV

Another installment of artwork from my great-grandmother, Olga Johanna Hanson Schmidt (1891-1990).

Part One is here: Artwork of Olga Hanson Schmidt

Part Two is here: Artwork of Olga Hanson Schmidt – Part II

Part Three is here: Artwork of Olga Hanson Schmidt – Part III

[As always you can click on each item to see a larger version, or to download the file.]


The first two paintings, both of river scenes, are owned by John Voght, Olga’s grandson:

John Voght 2

John – River Scene 1

John Voght 1

John – River Scene 2

The next painting, a still life of flowers in a vase, is owned by Alicia Kamenick, Margaret Schmidt’s grand-daughter.  She said of it:

” I didn’t even know this painting existed until this fall. I was visiting Ann in Santa Fe, and she had a couple of Olga’s paintings and asked if I would like one.  An easy decision.  I grew up with the ones my mom has in her house – a winter landscape and a still life with fruit.  Not knowing she [Olga] had done so many paintings, this one just made me happy to see it – I loved the colors.”

Alicia - Flowers in Vase

Alicia – Flowers in Vase

The next two paintings are owned by Mary Voght, Margaret Schmidt’s daughter:

Mary Voght - Still Life

Mary – Still Life

RiverScene_MaryVoght

Mary – River Scene

The next three paintings are owned by Peggy Kamenick (Margaret Schmidt’s daughter):

Still Life

Peggy – Still Life

Fall Lake Scene

Peggy – Fall Lake Scene

Autumn Gourds

Peggy – Autumn Gourds

It is believed that the next painting of horses in a field is owned by Karen Krueger Schulz, daughter of Norma Schmidt. This photograph (cropped from a photo of Olga in her home in 1971) is the only copy of this painting I have so far. It was a favorite of my mother’s, and when she was growing up she’d spend hours staring at it. It was always displayed over the couch in Edwin and Olga’s living-room:

OlgaSchmidtHorses

Horses in Field

This painting, “Madonna and Child”, is not like any of Olga’s other work because it was a copy of an existing work. This is her “grisaille”-style interpretation of the painting “Madonnina” by Roberto Ferruzzi. It was displayed in her living-room for many, many years, and was likely painted in the late 1930’s or early 1940’s. My mother remembers seeing it as a very young girl. It passed to Margaret Schmidt, who passed it to Mary Voght when Margaret died. It was damaged in a basement flood (the scars of which it still carries), and has since come into my possession. It’s a breathtaking work.

Madonna & Child, Full View

Madonna & Child, Full View

Madonna & Child, Detail

Madonna & Child, Detail

This painting, a winter scene, is from the collection of Edwin Schmidt IV, who is Olga’s great-grandson.  He got it from his father, Edwin Schmidt III.

 

OlgaSchmidtPainting_WinterScene

Edwin IV – Winter Scene

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

Leave a comment