Thomas Family Picnic 1930

It’s a tiny photograph.  Probably 2.75 inches by 1.75 inches.  But I was intrigued by it as soon as I saw it.  This was about two years ago.  The photo was part of the archives of my grandparents, Fred & Jean Thomas.  It then went to my father, and then to me.  There was a note clipped to the photo that had the names of several people.  Almost immediately I could tell the note was not correct because there were people in the note who were definitely not in the photo. The photo seemed to be from the late 20’s or early 30’s, judging by the cars in it and the clothing people were wearing.  It was clearly a Summer picnic of some kind.  There were picnic baskets, and everyone seemed  dressed for an outing.   There are 23 people in the photo, 14 adults and nine kids. [Click on the photos to enlarge or download]

Thomas Family Picnic, c1928

Thomas Family Picnic, c1928

I sent the photo to everyone in my family I could think of at the time.  And the answer I got in each case was, “I don’t recognize anyone in this picture at all.”  Dead end. Then, gradually, as the months passed, I started getting other pictures from all corners of the family of various people from that generation.  I started to learn the faces of the previous generations of my family. A few months ago, I said to myself, “I think that’s my grandfather in the lower left corner”.  He’s seated with his legs apart and with a sort of defiant look on his face.  That let me know about when the photo was taken.  Sometime between 1928 and 1930, based on my grandfather’s age.  I think it’s closer to 1930.  Here’s a photo comparing him in the group shot to a photo of my grandfather as an older man.

Fred Thomas Jr.

Fred Thomas Jr.

The next person I felt like I recognized was my grandfather’s “Aunt Anna”, Anna Thomas:

Anna Thomas McKenney

Anna Thomas McBride

A couple of days ago, I took a look at the photo again, and I noticed that the man in the back next to Anna looked like her husband Bill McBride.  The style of hat he is wearing in the photo I have of him is even similar.

Bill McBride

Bill McBride

One of the boys in the front row looks like my Great Uncle Charles Fogg Thomas.  Since Charles is still around (at 89 years old!), I sent him an email and he confirmed that it was indeed him in the photo: “Charles, that does look like me at that time.”

Charles Fogg Thomas

Charles Fogg Thomas

He also identified his brother Horace David Thomas as the boy sitting next to him:

Horace David Thomas

Horace David Thomas

Having tentatively identified these folks, I sent the photo back again to a couple of cousins.  My Great-Uncle Charles joined in too: “The woman in the front row with glasses looks like Aunt Claire [Muncy] Thomas.”

Claire Muncy

Claire Muncy

He continued: “Maybe Uncle Erwin is in the center and my dad [Frederick Thomas Sr.] to the left of Bill.”

ErwinThomas

Robert Erwin Thomas

Fred Thomas Sr.

Fred Thomas Sr.

It was reassuring that he said that, because I had definitely come to the conclusion that the two men in question must be brothers.  They looked like the same person a few years apart!  Once Charles said one was my great-grandfather, I immediately was struck by how much he looked like my father as a younger man.  In the side-by-side comparison you can see that the distinctive nose and ears are the same. Another easy identification (once I had another photo of her) was my great-grand aunt Olive “Eva” Bacon, who was the sister of my great-grandmother Delia Bacon, and who took in my grandfather after his mother died.

Olive Bacon

Olive Bacon

She’s wearing the same expression and hair-net look in both photos I have of her. I believe the man standing just behind Olive Bacon is her husband Jim Halloran.  Although not much of his face is visible, the chin seems to be distinctive.  There is some kind of dimple or scar on his right side near the chin that is the same in both photos.

Jim Halloran

Jim Halloran

I also believe that the young woman standing by Fred Thomas Sr. is his oldest child Grace Thomas.  She would have been about 14 years old in the photo.

GraceThomas

Grace Thomas

Because Robert Erwin Thomas and his wife Claire Muncy are both in the photo, I have to believe their daughter Lois Claire Thomas (1926-1953) would have been there also.  She would have been about four years old, and there is only one little girl that age in the photo.  I’m guessing it must be her.  Unfortunately you can only see the top of her head.

Lois Thomas

Lois Thomas

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

Leave a Reply

