The Winkelmann Family – New Branches

As I have written previously, I have been working for some time with a German woman named Doris Winkelmann Sonntag.  Doris contacted me about a year ago trying to find out if my 3x grandmother Wilhelmine Winkelmann (1836 – 1914) was related in some way to her Winkelmann family, which lived in the town of Karolina, in the province of Brandenburg, Prussia.

As time has gone on more and more evidence has emerged that links our family to the town of Karoline and towns that were just adjacent to it.

This morning Doris contacted me and sent me a quick note that she met with another Winkelmann family member (Ralf Block) this weekend, and the two of them have been able to determine that the father of Doris’s great grandfather Hermann Gustav Adolf Winkelmann (1880-1961) was Franz Winkelmann (1847 – 1936), and that this Franz Winkelmann was also the son of Christian Winkelmann from Karolina, Brandenburg, Posen, Prussia.  That means Doris’s great-grandfather Franz was the brother of my 3x great-grandmother Wilhelmine Winkelmann.

I’m attaching two family trees, one from Doris and one from Ralf, which show this relationship.  You will also note that Franz and Wilhelmine had a brother, Christian Friedrich Julius Winkelmann (1843 – 1902).  So that’s another branch of the tree that we can explore.  I have some original documents on the way from Prussia that I ordered from the Poznan Project which will tell us more about Franz and C.F. Julius.

[As always, click on these images to make them larger.]

Winkelmann Family Tree #1

Winkelmann Family Tree #1

Winkelmann Family Tree - Bloch

Winkelmann Family Tree – Ralf Block

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

Leave a Reply

