Death Record for Charlotte Börke Winkelmann

Today Doris Winkelmann Sonntag [my German cousin] sent me a very excited email:

Hi Charles!
I have found a document in the registry office in Berlin.  
Christian Winkelmann shows the death of his wife!

Sincerely yours
Doris Sonntag
Leipzig (Saxony)

We had learned only recently that Christian Winkelmann from Carolina, Posen, Prussia was the father of my 3x great grandmother Wilhelmine Winkelmann.  Now Doris has discovered the death record for Wilhelmine’s mother.  She attached the document itself, which I’ll display below.  Here is the translation:

No.99         C.
Stieglitz, 23 December 1885

Today, the Leibgedinger Christian Winkelmann, residing in Carolina, 
appeared before the undersigned registrar and indicated that 
Charlotte Winkelman, née Börke, wife of informant, aged 71 years 
7 months, 23 days old, evangelical religion, a resident of Carolina, born in 
Pehlitz [Kreis Friedeberg, Neumark, Brandenburg, Prussia] on 29 March 1814, 
parents of the deceased unknown, has died at two (2) o'clock in the 
afternoon on the twenty-second (22) of the year one thousand eight 
hundred and eighty and five (1885).

Read, approved and signed
signed Christian Winkelmann
The registrar, his signature

In agreement with the main register
Authenticated Stieglitz on 23 December 1885
The registrar, his signature

A “Leibgedinger” is a life annuitant, usually a father who transfers his property to a son for a promise of lifetime support.  Basically this means “retired and living on the family property.”

Charlotte Börke Winkelmann death certificate.

Charlotte Börke Winkelmann death certificate.

Charlotte was born in Pehlitz, Kreis Friedeberg, which is to the northwest of Modderpfuhl, Weissfenn, and Bergdorf, other towns where the Winkelmann and Schmidt families lived in Kreis Friedeberg.

Pehlitz, Modderpfuhl, Bergdorf, & Weissfenn.  Kreis Friedeberg.

Pehlitz, Modderpfuhl, Bergdorf, & Weissfenn. Kreis Friedeberg.

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

One response to “Death Record for Charlotte Börke Winkelmann

Leave a Reply

