Friedrich Schmidt & Wilhelmine Winkelmann – Marriage Record

My German friend and collaborator Jörg Schrick has a friend Dieder Sommerfeldt who found the following record:

Carl Friedrich SCHMIDT 24 (geb 1835)
Vater: Johann Ludwig SCHMIDT
oo 1859 in der Evangelischen Gemeinde in Schönlanke (Trzcianka)
Wilhelmine WINKELMANN 23 (geb 1836)
Vater: Chistian WINKELMANN

This is the marriage record for my 3x great grandparents. It says they were married in the town of Schönlanke, Posen, Prussia [which is called Trzcianka, Poland today] in 1859. This is only 8 miles from Gornitz, the town where the Schmidt family was living when they came to the US in 1892.

Here is the original document, sent to me by Lukasz Bielecki of the Posnan Project:

Original Marriage Document, Schönlanke, Posen, Prussia

Transcription:

Transcription

Translation:

Place:  Carolina
Number:  23.
Month:  October
Day:  30th
Officiating:    Jähnike (reverend ?)
Names:    The bachelor Carl Friedrich Schmidt, son of the deceased Kolonist 
Johann Ludwig Schmidt from Modderpfuhl to the maiden Wilhelmine Winkelmann, 
daughter of the Kolonist Christian Winkelmann from Carolina.
Previous marriages:   Neither him, nor her
Parents or legal guardian:   Him: Mother,   Her: Parents
Religion:  Protestant
Ages:  24, 23
Bans of Marriage:  October 9th, 16th, 23rd.
Consent:  He:  his own 
          Her: consent of the father
Place of marriage:  Schönlanke.

 

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

Leave a Reply

