Family Photos – Jack and Lulu Forrest

A few new photos of my great grandparents Lulu Maria Cairns and John Prescott “Jack” Forrest have come into my possession.  I thought I’d share them here.

Some of the new photos came from my father, Fred Thomas III.  He got them when his parents passed away, and they seem to have come from the collection of Helen Duff “Duffy” Forrest.  The others came from Tom Forrest, who is Jack Forrest’s grandson.

The first two photos are of Lulu with a new car, which appears to be a 1938 Chrysler (based on the vertical chrome strip on the grill).  My father said, “I think that was Lou Whitney’s car.”, and judging by the year of the license plate, he may be right.  [Louis Henry Whitney (1881-1940) was the second of Lulu’s four husbands.  They were only married six months before Lou died of a heart attack.]

Courtesy of Tom Forrest

Courtesy of Tom Forrest

Courtesy of Fred Thomas III

Courtesy of Fred Thomas III

This photo shows Jack and Lulu Forrest in about 1917.  The girl waving is Helen Duff Forrest.  The blonde girl is unidentified (perhaps a cousin or neighbor).  The other little girl is my grandmother Mildred Jean Forrest.

Courtesy of Fred Thomas III.

Courtesy of Fred Thomas III.

This photo from about 1926 shows Helen Forrest in the back seat and John Prescott Forrest Jr. in the front seat next to his dad.  Can anyone identify this convertible?  It looks like quite a beast!

Courtesy of Tom Forrest.

Courtesy of Tom Forrest.

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

Leave a Reply

