President Herbert Hoover (1874-1964)

I just found out I’m related to President Herbert C. Hoover through my great-grandma Edith Edna Curtis.  He’s my 3rd cousin 4x removed.  Very basically, John M Hoover is my 6x great-grandfather and he’s Herbert Hoover’s great-great grandfather:

Herbert Clark Hoover (1874 – 1964)
Jesse Clark Hoover (1846 – 1880) Father of Herbert Clark
Eli Hoover (1820 – 1892) Father of Jesse Clark
Jesse Hoover (1799 – 1856) Father of Eli
John M Hoover (1760 – 1831) Father of Jesse
Catherine Hoover (1787 – 1856) Daughter of John M
Daniel L Curtis (1814 – 1885) Son of Catherine
Harvey Hoover Curtis (1844 – 1917) Son of Daniel L
Florien Herburt Curtis (1875 – 1952) Son of Harvey Hoover
Edith Edna Curtis (1903 – 1989) Daughter of Florien Herburt
Lloyd Oscar Krueger (1921 – 2010) Son of Edith Edna
Ellen Kay Krueger (1945 – ) Daughter of Lloyd Oscar
Charles Frederick Thomas son of Ellen Kay

Herbert Hoover, my 3rd cousin 4x removed

The Hoover line goes back through my 6x great-grandparents John M Hoover (1760-1831) and Sarah Burkhart (Burkett) (1767-1843):

John Hoover’s parents were Andreas Huber (1723-1794), who was from Ellerstadt, Germany, and Anna Margaretha Pfautz (1725-1798), who was from the Neckar Valley in Wurtzburg, Bavaria.  They came to the US in the 1720’s, which is quite a bit before the rest of my German/Prussian ancestors got here.

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

Leave a Reply

