Family Photos… When It Rains, It Pours

Kind of an unprecedented day today in terms of family photos.  Three cousins simultaneously sent me photos today, so I thought I’d just throw them all up here with some brief notes.

The first batch is from John Burrell, who is the son of my grand-aunt Elizabeth “Betty” Forrest.  It’s a photo of John Prescott “Red” Forrest (1923 – 2004) and his mother, Lulu Cairns Coutermarsh (1888 – 1975), which looks like it was taken about 1974, shortly before Lulu’s death:

John Forrest and Lulu Cairns

The next one is my grandfather Fred Thomas Jr (1918-2006) with his sister-in-law, Betty Forrest Marshall.  It looks like John Burrell in her lap, and my father and his two brothers Dick and Dave on my grandfather’s lap.  Probably taken about 1949:

Thomas and Marshall families.

Next is a photo of my grandfather, Fred Thomas Jr. that was sent to me by Tom Forrest.  Looks like it was taken about 1947.  He’s holding a sapling:

Fred Thomas and Sapling

The rest of these were sent to me by Martha “Marti” McDonald Benz, who is the daughter of Grace Thomas, my father’s “Aunt Grace”.  I called Marti out of the blue and she was just amazingly kind to me and very interested in the family history work I’ve been doing.  I’m so glad we connected!

The first photo is of Anna Clifford (1851-1929), which is from a pair of photos with her and her husband Horace Luther Thomas (my 2x great grandfather).

Anna Clifford, about 1910.

The next is of Anna Thomas (1876-1971), her daughter, who later married William McBride.  Anna and her husband Bill took in Aunt Grace after the death of their mother in the 1918 Spanish Influenza epidemic:

Anna Thomas McBride

Here is Anna and her husband William McBride much later in life.  Probably taken in the mid-1940s:

Anna and William McBride

Finally, here is a picture of Grace Thomas (1916-1999) herself on her wedding day, 11 June 1941.  Grace was the sister of my grandfather, Frederick Thomas Jr.  She married James McDonald (1914-1982).  I’ve been meaning to write more about her, but haven’t managed to get around to it yet.

The photo was taken in front of the family home at 186 Summit Street in Burlington, Vermont.

Grace Thomas McDonald, Wedding Day.

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

Leave a Reply

