Cairns Vital Records from Quebec

The photograph of Lulu Cairns and her sister Mildred made me look more at them in the family tree. I realized that I had accidentally overlooked a baptism document from the American Presbyterian Church in Montreal, Quebec, Canada when Mildred and Lulu were baptized in April of 1912.  Lulu was 24 and Mildred was 20.  This is a great document because Lulu, Mildred and Samuel all signed it:

But it got me thinking.  I had an anecdotal note on my tree that Lulu and Midred’s mother Helen Nason may have died in 1912.  I could envision either that the girls were baptized in conjunction with her funeral or that Helen died and Samuel could finally get his wish and have his girls baptized (assuming Helen might have been a different religion).  So I went looking in the same book for a burial record for Helen.  At first I didn’t find it, but it was in the index in the back and I was able to locate it.  She died about 20 days after the girls were baptized, so I’m thinking that they went in and got baptized as part of some process of the family getting ready for Helen to pass when she was very ill.  The burial record is interesting because it gives the place where the family was living (Westmount, Quebec, Candada) and also says that Samuel was working as an “Inspector”.  The record says Helen was 49, but she was 48 according to my records.  The place of Helen’s burial is also given (Ormstown, Quebec, Candada).  Ormstown was where the Webb and Cairns families lived for many years.

The J.A. Webb who signed as a witness I’m guessing is a cousin of Samuel Cairns.  His mother was Sarah Webb, so I’m guessing this is a son of his mother’s brother William Webb.

At the end of this same book is the marriage record for Lulu marrying my great-grandfather John Prescott “Jack” Forrest on December 4, 1912.  Busy year for the Cairns Family!  Note that they describe my 24-year-old great-grandmother as a “spinster”.

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

Leave a Reply

