LaVila – Krueger Family

I called my cousin LaVila Krueger Luedtke today.   She lives in Edgar, Wisconsin and she’s 88 years old.  Still as sharp as a tack. Funny, charming, and quite beautiful.  I had a few questions to ask her about the Carl Bertold Krueger (1864-1949) side of the family.  They were farmers in the Town of Maine, Marathon County, Wisconsin.   Carl Krueger was one of the four original Kruegers to come over to the US from Pomerania, Prussia.  I had a few questions I wanted to ask her and these are her answers:

  • She didn’t know anything about the Krueger origins apart from the fact that they were from Pomerania.  She never heard a town mentioned.
  • She never heard anything about how Henry Krueger and Bertha Kamrath met.  Nor did she hear how Carl Krueger and Bertha Strehlow met, although she knew that the Strehlow family property actually touched the property of the Krueger family in the Town of Maine (the two plots were diagonal to each other, so they touched in one corner).  So they most likely just met via proximity.  “They couldn’t get around anywhere except on horseback, so it must have been really convenient to have a girlfriend who lived just next door.  You could go chat at the fence!”
  • She had no idea what Henry did for a living.  “He lived in Wausau.  What did he do there, do you suppose?”  🙂
  • She confirmed that there were only the four Kruegers in the family.  Just Wilhelm and Caroline and their two boys Henry and Carl.  No other children left behind in Prussia.  “They would have brought them over with the parents I’m sure.  No, it was just the two boys.  I never heard about anyone else.”

About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

Leave a Reply

