Clifford Family – Quebec Newspaper Archive

Laurie Winter sent this with regard to trying to find an obituary for Robert Clifford Jr, who died in Quebec:

Have you tried the provincial National Archives?  I’ve worked mainly with the ones in Ontario, but Quebec has it’s own branch.  I know that they’ve started offering some digitized newspapers, so you may want to search their digital collections and see what’s available.  Here’s a link to the collections page:

Update 28 Feb 2012:
I heard back from Joan Benoit, the Executive Secretry of the Quebec Historical Society who said:
There was a newspaper called the Sherbrooke Gazette. It has been indexed by Pamela Waugh.  We would suggest you google her name or the name of the newspaper to acquire access to the resource.
I didn’t find Pamela, although I did find a transcription of the Sherbrooke Gazette done by a guy named Mat Adron <madron AT cogeco DOT ca>.  He explained that there is, indeed, a hole in that period where Robert Clifford died (he died in Eastman, Quebec on 23 February 1891 at the age of 33).  I asked him if any French papers might have covered that time period.  He said:
I did use several years of French papers but found that they don’t carry an ‘English’ obituary unless they had a connection to the French Canadians, such as a politician or a doctor. There were/are two solitudes.
About cthomas1967

Seeking to bring my ancestors out of the shadows of history and into the light. I have always been interested in history, and at a few different times I tried to do a family tree, but wasn't able to do it with the technology that was available then. On a business trip I visited the World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO and it was a very impressive establishment. While I was there I remember thinking, "Didn't my great-grandfather father fight in World War I? And wasn't his brother killed alongside him in some famous battle? I wonder if I can find out where he died." That's what started it all. View all posts by cthomas1967

One response to “Clifford Family – Quebec Newspaper Archive

  • Serge Wagner

    Sorry, I had problems sending my comment.
    Hello,
    I am late in reacting but I just found the texts about Robert Clifford. There are two informations I may add. First, it seems that he was killed by a train. Secondly, he was well known and largely appreciated.
    I infer that from two distinct sources:
    1. An article in the “Waterloo Advertiser”, a regional newspaper that included short chronicles about the surrounding hamlets or villages:
    Eastman,…. “A fatal accident occurred here Monday evening… Robert Clifford, C.P.R. station agent, was instantly killed…. He was about 32 years of age and leaves a wife and three children to mourn his uniquely end.”
    (1891-02-27, Waterloo Advertiser, p.2)
    2. What lead me to searching the article was a mention about the accident in the personal diary of a remarkable women, Myra Flagg Place. She was living in a nearby hamlet, Millington – a distance of around 14 km (or 9 miles) from Eastman. Myra Place was the wife of a farmer-trader who was 3 times mayor of East Bolton. Myra Place was born in the USA, was a devoted Christian, and help her husband with the general store they had and a kind of “Bed & Breakfast” she managed.
    In her Journal of February 23 1891, Myra Place wrote:
    “I heard tonight that Mr Clifford was killed this afternoon by the Cars. I feel sorry he was liked by all and leaves a wife and small children.”
    In Myra Place’s Journal, I found no other mention of the Cliffords, Robert Clifford must have been important for the Place family members: in addition to their own travelling by train, their young boy was using the train on a weekly basis, plus they rely on the Eastman train station to obtain goods ordered from cities.
    [I have access to Myra Place’s Journal, thanks to Mrs Beverly Walking, great grand-daughter of Aylmer Place and his wife, Myra Patience Flagg Place.]
    Please excuse my approximate English, and I wish this may help,
    Serge Wagner, Austin Quebec
    sergewagner@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

